Shannon Lay Has Returned With News Of Her Upcoming Album Geist


Shannon Lay has returned with news of her upcoming album Geist, and has released two songs “Awaken and Allow” and “Geist” as the lead outings.

“Awaken and Allow” and the album’s title-track “Geist” follow May’s “Rare to Wake”, and arrive with a Kai MacKnight-directed video for both songs.

Speaking about the tracks, Lay says, “”Awaken and Allow” is a prayer and a promise. A quiet moment to reflect on transformation and what it means to me. California represents my comfort zone and in this song I am urging myself and everyone listening to move out of their comfort zone in order to push ourselves to grow and evolve.”

[embedded content]

“”Geist” is a testament to the power we all have within,” Lay adds. “We are so much more amazing than we know ourselves to be. With this video I really wanted to acknowledge some of the incredible people who make shows possible. We filmed at Zebulon in Los Angeles; a venue that has brought so much to the community here and I am so happy they have survived this uncertain time. There is so much going on behind the scenes to create the amazing memories we all have of live music and every part of that took a hit with the pandemic. With all we have been through it has been awe inspiring to see the strength of the human spirit.”

Geist will follow Lay’s 2019 album August, and features contributions from Ty Segall, Sofia Arreguin (Wand) and Aaron Otheim (Heatwarmer, Mega Bog).


  1. Rare to Wake
  2. A Thread to Find
  3. Sure
  4. Shores
  5. Awaken and Allow
  6. Geist
  7. Untitled
  8. Late Night
  9. Times Arrow
  10. July

Upload Your Song


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.